Heads Up! This website is no longer maintained, if your a member from our era, consider joining the discord to say hello.
Sign in to follow this  

Nail-biting? Why is it bad for you?

Okay, so I've been biting my nails for about 12 years now, and never even had to use scissors to cut them even once. Therefore, I do not understand the concept of why cutting it with scissors would be better than biting them off. The only "reasons" I ever find is "you get germs in your mouth" and "it looks nasty". Well, I think they look NORMAL and I wash my hands before I bite my nails. Who the heck can refute me now?

So yeah. I'd like to know what you think of nail biting. Should I really stop this "habit" (more like "activity"), just because there are thousands of dumb people out there who do it wrong, and were taught that it's bad for them?

Actually, theres other reasons.

You shouldnt bite your nails for the same reason you shouldnt grind your teeth. Excess pressure on the teeth blocks healthy blood flow and wears away enamel.

Plus, if you were out working in the fields, or shoveling manure, digging your hands through sand, certain blood and intestinal parasites can lay up to 80k tiny eggs per ounce of fecal matter. You biting your nails could inadvertantly cause you to swallow one of these eggs and some of these parasites cause death.

Actually, i just saw a TV special on it where one kid lost his eyesight due to a parasite that only lives in dog poo, somehow the boy had gotten some in his mouth just from playing in the sand at his local playground. Even if you wash your hands, the soapy water cant get at the bacteria trapped underneath the nails.

Oh wait, heres the wikipedia on it